Dr. Vinh Nguyen (also known as: Thanh Vinh Nguyen or Thanh V. Nguyen on academic publications) was born in Vietnam. After high school, he went to Sydney, Australia to study industrial chemistry at University of New South Wales. He then moved to undertake his PhD in organic chemistry with Professor Michael Sherburn at the Australian National University, Canberra. He had worked to develop new synthetic methodologies for application in natural product synthesis and worked on the design and synthesis of enormoussynthetic host molecules for drug-delivery modelling. After graduating in 2010, he came to work on organocatalysis in Professor Dieter Enders group at the Institute of Organic Chemistry, RWTH Aachen, Germany under the auspices of an Alexander von Humboldt Postdoctoral Fellowship.  In June 2013, he moved to Curtin University (Perth, Australia) to start his own independent research group. In June 2015, he moved again to UNSW (Sydney) to take up a Lecturer position at the School of Chemistry. His current research interests are organocatalysis, aromatic cation activation, synthesis of naturally occurring and bioactive compounds, asymmetric synthesis and medicinal chemistry.


Academic Achievement and Awards:

Independent Academic Career:

  • 2016: The 2016 Athel Beckwith Lectureship from RACI Organic Chemistry Division.
  • 2015-2018: ARC Discovery Early Career Researcher Award (DECRA).
  • 2014: Thieme Chemistry Journal Award for outstanding early career academics.
  • 2013-2017: Early Career Researcher (equivalent to a fixed-term Lecturer position) – Curtin Research Fellowship + research grant for research studies at Curtin University, Australia.


  • 2011 – 2013: Alexander von Humboldt Postdoctoral Fellowship for studies at Rheinisch-Westfälische Technische Hochschule Aachen (RWTH Aachen University), Germany.
  • 2012: JSPS Postdoctoral Fellowship (+ 2 year research grant – renounced).

Uni – Postgraduate:

  • 2011: PhD thesis was nominated for the J. G. Crawford Prize for ANU Best PhD Thesis Award
  • 2007: ANU Science Travel Grant to Calixarene 2007 conference in the US (renounced)
  • 2006-2009: The ANU – PhD Scholarship for Doctor of Philosophy research at the ANU, sponsored by the ARC Centre of Excellence for Free Radical Chemistry and Biotechnology

Uni – Undergraduate:

  • 2005: The Era Polymer Prize for “The Best Honor Research Thesis” in Industrial Chemistry – UNSW
  • 2005: Best Poster Presentation Award at UNSW Taste of Research concluding meeting
  • 2004 – 2005: The Taste of Research – Summer Scholarship for Outstanding Student from Faculty of Engineering –UNSW
  • 2003 – 2004: The Taste of Research – Summer Scholarship for Outstanding Student from Faculty of Engineering, UNSW
  • 2002: The June Griffith Memorial Prize for the Best Performance in Level 1 Chemistry from School of Chemical Science – UNSW
  • 2002: Dean’s Award for Outstanding Student from Faculty of Engineering – UNSW
  • 2002 – 2005: Australia Development Scholarship (AusAID) for Undergraduate study at University of New South Wales, sponsored by Australian Agency for International Development

High School – PreUni:

  • 2000: Silver medal in the 32nd International Chemistry Olympiad in Copenhagen, Denmark
  • 2000: Silver medal in 2000 Vietnamese National Chemistry Olympiads for High School Student
  • 1999: Silver medal in 1999 Vietnamese National Chemistry Olympiads for High School Student

Academic Membership and Other Activities:

  • MRACI CChem (Chartered) member of the Royal Australian Chemical Institute (RACI)
  • Life member of Alexander von Humboldt Research Network

Regular referee for: Journal of American Chemical Society, Account of Chemical Research and Journal of Organic Chemistry (ACS), Chemical Communications, RSC Advances, Organic and Biomolecular Chemistry and the New Journal of Chemistry (RSC),  Angewandte Chemie, Asian Journal of Organic Chemistry and European Journal of Organic Chemistry (Wiley), Synlett (Thieme), Tetrahedron Letters and Crop Protection (Elservier), Australian Journal of Chemistry (CSIRO), Synthetic Communications (Taylor and Francis), International Journal of Molecular Sciences (MDPI), Environmental Chemistry Letters (Springer).